Pitt Artists Markers

After using Crayola Markers I decided to take the artistic leap of buying myself some “real” art supplies.  My first markers purchase was Pitt Artist  Faber-Castell markers, the pastel set.  I was not disappointed!  You can tell the difference in quality from everyday markers.  The paint brush style tip is very versatile and able to accommodate small details and large areas.  Cheep markers can wear down and corrupt the pieces paper.  Pitt Markers have a much smoother feel to them when using them.  They seem to have no dimension to their color, cheep markers seem to lay a kind of goo on the page compared to the pit markers.   The Pitt Marker color seems to soak right into the paper as though it is a dye.  I have really enjoyed the pastel set, now I am anxious for more color options and want to buy more Pitt Markers.

Calm and Orderliness at the Conference, Doodle by Jeanine A Thriver
Calm and Orderliness at the Conference, Doodle by Jeanine A Thriver

I experience anxiety when attending church.  Sometimes it can be very hard for me to stay and sit through a meeting.  The above doodle Calm and Orderliness at the Conference was mostly doodled while sitting in Stake Conference.  My anxiety was great that day, I was totally engrossed in my doodle in order to disassociate as much as possible from the surroundings that were causing anxiety in me.  Each little line, each little curve helped keep my nerves calm, helped me sit with my family at the conference.  At one point a lady on our row had to squeeze past my chair in order to exit the room, she admired my doodle on her way back.  I appreciated that.

Important Little Details, Doodle by Jeanine A Thriver
Important Little Details, Doodle by Jeanine A Thriver

Often I think my PTSD effects my memory.  I can often forget important details, at the most awkward moments.  This piece Important Little Details shows all the details in the right place and properly filled in, it would be nice if I could do that in my everyday life.

The black lines on on the above piece were made by Faber-Castell Fine Liner Black Pen Set.  To tell the truth I am a bit dissapointed in the black pen set.  The black lines sometimes bleed into the colored elements while I am drawing.  This bleeding happened both with the Pitt Markers and with my water color markers.  On every occasion I have waited some time, at least two hours, for the black lines to dry before filling in the color details.  Even with waiting I get some bleeding.  I will eventually look for another option for my fine line pens.

Leave a Reply

