Old Crayola Pieces

Circus of Old and New, Doodle by Jeanine A Thriver

Last year sometime after realizing I was doodling all the time on random pieces of paper I decided to doodle in my art book.  I started out doodling with markers and colored pens I bought for my kids school supplies.   I remember being excited when I bought my own set of Crayola Fine Tip Markers because the very fine tips enabled me to put a lot more detail in my doodles.

The following piece Anxiety – Fire in my Chest was made with my kids Generic Markers about Jan 2015.

Anxiety - Fire in My Chest
Anxiety – Fire in My Chest, Doodle by Jeanine A Thriver

This piece Many Things to Consider uses the Crayola Fine Tip Markers.  You can see how it is much more detailed and crisp the the previous piece.

Many Thins To Consider - Doodle by Jeanine A Thriver
Many Thins To Consider – Doodle by Jeanine A Thriver

It was not long until I was longing for even better markers and pens.  Because of this I bought my first set of Gelly Roll Pens in mid Feb 2015.  In this piece I took a completed Crayola Marker Doodle and added Gelly Roll Details over the top.  It was lots of fun making Circus of Old and New and experimenting with almost endless detailing options by layering the Gel pens over the markers.

Circus of Old and New, Doodle by Jeanine A Thriver
Circus of Old and New, Doodle by Jeanine A Thriver
6 thoughts on “Old Crayola Pieces

  1. I find the first one, and one previous, a self-portrait, interesting. Raymond, a therapist, had me begin to draw, sculpt, paint, whatever medium I choose, to depict feelings. One predominant picture came out several times with lots of reds swirling from inside my soul, similar to a few of yours. And no wonder, considering what had been held inside for so long.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! You are so kind. Depth, beauty, stunning, such great words, thank you for using them on my pieces. Most of the time I like my pieces more after I post them. Before posting, I am self conscious about their imperfections. But it feels good to post my pieces, and see them on my blog, it helps me. Then if/ when I get some likes and comments, even better!

        Liked by 1 person

    • I think you are right. Almost every one of my doodles feels like a self portrait. But I think they are often self portraits of where I am at emotionally, or where I want to be. In the beginning I was tempted to call them all self portraits. But I have sense decided to name them based on the emotion they seem to represent. Most of the time I just doodle and see what comes out, so it can be hard at first for me to know what they represent. But once I name them it really fits.

      Like

Leave a Reply

