I am LDS

lds-logo2It is a culture a community and an identity and I love it.  I love the goodness that comes with the culture.  I love the goodness that comes with the identity.  I love the good LDS people in the community.

Yes, I was spiritually abused by my LDS father who lied and twisted the doctrines to control me.

Yes. pedophiles leach on the church to pretend they are perfect in-order to prey on naive members.

Yes, these things happen in other churches.  It is not right here, it is not right there, it being in churches is not right.

These are only some of the bad things.  But these are the bad things that seem to bother me the most often.

Even still, in-spite of the bad things I love being LDS because there are so many good things.

Me loving and appreciating the good does not mean I accept the bad or turn a blind eye to it.  Me being LDS does not require me to pretend it is all perfect, that would be foolish.

I love the good things in the LDS culture.  I love the good things in the LDS religion.  I love the good things in the LDS community.  I stay for those reasons.

2 thoughts on “I am LDS

Leave a Reply

