Definition of Poverty

We watched Call a Midwife, Series 1: Episode 2 today on Netflix. This part about Mary, a “harlot”, really struck me.

Fallen woman“I’m not a fallen woman.” Mary

No“No” Father Joe

Boyfriend“I had a boyfriend.” Mary

his name was zakir“His name was Zakir.” Mary

he took me in“He took me in,” Mary

bread for the birds“when he found me eating bread left for the birds.” Mary

He worked for his uncle“But he worked for his uncle.” Mary

I had to work“And I had to work for his uncle, too.” Mary

you were forced“We understand that you were forced.” Father Joe

No Shame in it“There is no shame in it.” Father Joe

there isant for the men“There isn’t for the men” Mary

Pimps Trick“It’s a pimp’s trick, old as the hills.” Father Joe

Vulnerable gilr“A young man finds a vulnerable girl,” Father Joe

lures her to bed“lures her to bed with a kiss and kind words.” Father Joe

By the time hes finished“By the time he’s finished with her,” Father Joe

anything for him“she’d do anything for him.” Father Joe

Any Sense of Danger“But don’t the girls have any sense of danger?” Nurse Jenny Lee

danger all their lives“They’ve usually been in danger all their lives.” Father Joe

violance hunger and disease“If not from violence, then from hunger and disease.”  Father Joe

hard to imagine“It’s hard to imagine, I grant you,” Father Joe

never lived like that“if you’ve never lived like that.” Father Joe

I work in“I work in the East End, Father.  I know about poverty.” Jenny Lee

I dont htink you do“Nurse, I don’t think you do.” Father Joe

Poverty isant“Poverty isn’t bad housing, dirty clothing, families of 10.” Father Joe

Never having been loved or respected.“It’s never having been loved, or even respected.” Father Joe

Not knowing the difference“Not knowing the difference between love and abuse,” Father Joe

Kiss down payment“a kiss that wasn’t down payment on a blow.”Father Joe

“Poverty isn’t bad housing, dirty clothing, families of 10.

It’s never having been loved, or even respected.

Not knowing the difference between love and abuse,

a kiss that wasn’t down payment on a blow.”

Father Joe, Call the Midwife, Series 1: Episode 3

Leave a Reply

